Home > Daily Prompt, LIfe > Spring With 80 mph Winds!

Spring With 80 mph Winds!

Daily Prompt: Turn, Turn, Turn

For many of us, winter is blooming into Spring, or fall hardening into winter. Which season do you most look forward to?

images (3)I look forward to Spring.  Shedding the winter gloom from mind, body and spirit that for me is so utterly depressing.  During winter the trees and plants are bare and often I look at them wondering if they are dead.  I worry too that they are dead because I spent some money and a lot of effort landscaping my yard.

I know plants go dormant but that isn’t enough to convince me that they are still alive.   I need Spring to come.   I need the last snowfall, the last frost to be history because I need to see the new growth in plants.  When the calendar indicates that Spring is coming I clean out the birdfeeders, I ready the garden for planting of new vegetables, I prune off the dead growth and I wait for the weather to change.  I love the hummingbirds, butterflies, new bunnies, quail and the birds nesting on the patio.

 Image

The new growth is symbolic for me.  Each year I see the blooms  and I think, ahhh….I’ve made it another year! images

I don’t really do well in the cold winter months.  Never mind the short, dark, cold, and gloomy days.  The cold brings physical pain for me as well with all my broken bones from a motorcycle accident.  I need Spring to come so I can start to defrost!  So the pain will abate and I can get back to living again!

Of course, onset of Spring does bring the threat of allergies for many.  Thankfully, I don’t suffer from allergies.   Even if I did, I’d deal with it! images (4)

Where I live, Mother Nature tends to be fickle.  We recently had a couple of days of 80-degree temperatures.   A few weeks ago it was snowing.  It will reach 110 on most days in the summer.  Today however, it is about 50 and windy.  Forecast warns us to be prepared for 80 mph wind gusts.
Today’s warning:

Health advisories for the area due to high winds are in effect.  Air Quality Index (AQI) may reach levels unsafe for sensitive individuals, according to the advisory, so those with respiratory, heart or lung diseases should minimize outdoor activity.

Oh great!  Nothing stays put in such winds.  For the record it is always windy where I live but we’re used to 25 mph wind gusts, 80 is pushing it!  Even for us!

Signs are waving in the wind, threatening to come loose from their poles.  Tumble weeds the size of small cars are rolling unfettered down the street;  Trees are trying to bend with the wind and not break; the blue sky is gone, eclipsed by the tan dust clouds.   The sun is trying hard to shine through but at best it is just a soft glowing orange ball in the sky right now.

Small animals and children definitely need to stay inside unless they want to inadvertently find themselves living a reality version of Wizard of Oz.

I hate the wind.  I hate the noise it makes.  I hate the dust that is created from these winds.  The general populace does not see the value in landscaping.  The towns do not see the value in sidewalks or streetlights in the outlining areas so there are miles and miles of dirt.  Dirt. Dirt. Dirt.  This dust gets picked up happily by the wind and blown around as if we’re just in a dirt bowl.  The dust is often so fine that it sifts it way into everything.  Nothing is immune from the dust.  It is willful and determined and will succeed in getting into everything!  Eyes, ears, sealed homes, cars…it doesn’t matter.  We’re being “dusted” as I write this.  It will take days to clear the dust.  By the time I’ve cleared all the dust in my home, I’ll have to start all over again because the wind started blowing again!

Alas, Spring.  I love it…but I do not love the strong winds that come along with it!Image

My most favorite thing about Spring though is that I can look at the calendar and know—just  KNOW THAT SUMMER IS COMING!!!

Image

Summer is THE best time of the year for me!  I love the long warm days that seem to go on forever.  Seeing the heat on the hot asphalt on the road waving in the sunlight serves as a warning…drink!!!   Water, that is

Image

Bar-B-Ques with friends in the back yard or at the beach, the lake or the river; riding the Harley across the desert and getting burned like a piece of fried chicken; going to a baseball game during the day is probably one of the most decadent things one can do in the summer. Image Beer and hotdogs, pretzels and peanuts AND baseball?  Who can beat that?!

Image

  1. 07/06/2013 at 5:48 AM | #1

    Autumn and spring…both full of change and beautiful. I hope your spring was what you had hoped and your summer continues to be even better!

  2. 04/08/2013 at 6:15 PM | #2

    I have to say, I like Autumn. I mean, summer is nice, the weather, but I do think there’s something special about Autumn for me, the trees are all such pretty colours.

    • 04/08/2013 at 7:23 PM | #3

      Oooookay! You are right! Autumn is just lovely isn’t it? I like it too. Its just so short lived here. When I lived in New York, we had a real season of Autumn. The leaves changing colors was something to see! The crispness in the air, the warm clothes…uh, ok. I like Autumn too! :)

  1. 04/09/2013 at 2:11 AM | #1
You must be logged in to post a comment.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

