One Day A Donkey Fell….

…into a well. The animal cried piteously for hours as the farmer tried to figure out what to do. Finally, he decided the animal was old, and the well needed to be covered up anyway; it just wasn’t worth it to retrieve the donkey.

He invited all his neighbors to come over and help him.

They all grabbed a shovel and began to shovel dirt into the well.

At first, the donkey realized what was happening and cried horribly.

Then, to everyone’s amazement he quieted down. A few shovel loads later, the farmer finally looked down the well.

He was astonished at what he saw. With each shovel of dirt that hit his back, the donkey was doing something amazing. He would shake it off and take a step up.

As the farmer’s neighbors continued to shovel dirt on top of the animal, he would shake it off and take a step up. Pretty soon, everyone was amazed as the donkey stepped up over the edge of the well and happily trotted off!

MORAL : Life is going to shovel dirt on you, all kinds of dirt.

The trick to getting out of the well is to shake it off and take a step up. Each of our troubles is a stepping stone. We can get out of the deepest wells just by not stopping, never giving up! Shake it off and take a step up.

Remember the five simple rules to be happy:
1. Free your heart from hatred – Forgive.
2. Free your mind from worries – Most never happens.
3. Live simply and appreciate what you have.
4. Give more.
5. Expect less from people but more from yourself.
17 thoughts on “One Day A Donkey Fell….

  1. Lovely metaphor. Thanks for sharing. 🙂 I love donkeys, by the way! They’re such sweet looking animals. I’ve only ever seen them from a distance, never met one. Maybe one day …

    Like

    • Donkeys are everywhere here where I live. In fact I have a friend who has adopted one as a pet. They are so plentiful that the animal control folks encourage having one as a pet. You can train them, use them for work on the property, etc. They are noisy though! I should mention that where I live the average “lot” size is an acre or more. So donkey’s can have room to roam.

      Like

      • Oh how lovely! A pet donkey. 🙂 Of course, they would need room to roam around. My garden is about the size of a bedroom!! No donkeys going back there anytime soon. 😦 One day I hope to have a big garden again. That’s my dream anyway. Maybe then I’ll find a donkey … 🙂

        Like

      • Several people have horses on their property I guess a donkey or two doesn’t make a lot of difference. They also have pigs, cows and chickens here and there. One guy has an ostrich farm…I suppose that’s what you get when the city doesn’t put in sidewalks or streetlights. Let’s keep it rural. I have a friend who’s next door neighbor has chickens and roosters. The stupid things crow..caw?..cry? cockadoodle doooo at annoying hours in the early morning. 2 am, 3 am..5am. I’ve slept at the house a couple of times, rather napped because the roosters don’t shut up! The roosters crowing at sunrise only as an alarm clock seems to be a myth!

        Like

      • LOL, that’s very funny! I had chickens (and roosters) before and they were pretty well behaved I think. Well I couldn’t hear them at least. But they slept in a shed. Maybe your neighbour’s chickens sleep in trees or something, in which case they might wake up for any reason and start making noise. Otherwise … it’s a mystery! LOL

        Like

      • I think they are called “free ranging”. They have no shed, that I can see and just roam at will. City codes allow each person to have about 6 chickens and 1 rooster EACH per house. I count myself lucky that people near me don’t take advantage of that code section. Although the eggs from the chickens are healthier than what we get in the store.

        Like

      • Oh my chickens were totally free range too. They would just go into their shed at dusk to sleep. I’d lock them in (to protect from foxes etc) and then I’d get up at dawn and open the door. But if there’s no shed at your neighbour’s house, then yes, that would explain the noise. Any lights, cars, whatever will wake them up and they’ll start crowing! lol.

        Like

      • Its not my neighbor’s house. Its a friend’s house. Soemone had a rooster near by for a while, but its silent now…gone? Butchered? I don’t know. lol!!! Why did you have chickens? Did you raise them to eat? For the eggs? As pets?

        Like

      • Oh gosh, long story. Started as a rescue of one baby chick. Ended up with a bunch of chickens. Mostly for eggs, but sometimes a rooster went into the pot. I’d choose the mean roosters – they have different personalities, just like other animals. Some roosters were rough with the hens. I never had a problem snapping their neck. But I took good care of the gentle roosters and the hens. 🙂

        Like

      • OH my goodness! Never had a problem snapping their neck! lmao!!! Tilda…that must have been another side of you we haven’t seen. I remember as a little kid living in Hollywood, CA our neighbor had chickens. It was odd for anyone to have chickens, but this person did. By timing or happenstance I saw the neighbor kill the chicken by cutting its head off. It’s true what they say….running around like a chicken with its head cut off. Its been at least 45 years since I saw that, but I remember it absolutely clearly. Wasn’t tramatized by it, I just remember it. I think snapping the neck is more humane then beheading….just saying..

        Like

      • LOL. Gosh I thought that some of my posts did show my “dark” side pretty well, but I guess not! I’ll have to write something really bad!! LOL. Just kidding. But really, some roosters were quite brutal with the hens. I don’t think they intended to be “evil” or anything, but they just weren’t as gentle as other roosters. One little hen had blood all over her head once. I didn’t mind one bit when I caught that rooster and did the deed. I even showed his dead body to the hen, so she’d know he was gone. Yes, neck-snapping is a “cleaner” method. Not something I remember fondly, but just part of my life.

        Like

    • Oh I think you’ve heard this before…a different rendition of it maybe…like…be like a duck and let water flow off your back…or don’t sweat the small stuff…that sort of thing. Its all the same message…

      Like

Tell me what you think...

